Summer is over! Well, almost.

So what did I do this morning you ask?  I went to school.  Noooooooo!  This just means that summer is close to being over and reality is going to set in again.  I really wish that I could somehow stretch a few more weeks out of it, but unless I find a time machine I don’t think that will be happening.

I do know that our daily routine of sleeping in needs to slowly wean back to our early mornings.  Today I almost lost it when I tried to get everyone out the door by 9:00.  It was like we were all stuck in molasses and on slow motion at the same time.  Between one not being dressed and the other losing it because he couldn’t watch his show I almost said, forget it, let’s just stay home.  But, alas I pushed through.

I did not actually get much done in my classroom today, but the ideas have started flowing.  I can usually visualize what I want each area of my classroom to look like.  Since I have moved classrooms, as well as buildings, it is a little bit harder for me to really know how I want it all to look.

3rd grade is so different from Kindergarten and there are things that I have always needed that are no longer required.  It’s just a matter of tweaking some things and reinventing others.  So far I have my library area pretty well set, at least for now.  I am trying to come up with ideas for how I want to set up the areas for centers and my bulletin boards.

I will try to take some pics tomorrow and that way I can have a before and after to post.

Leave a Reply

