Making Lemonade out of Lemons-Literally

Oh my!  I am not sure what happened but I have been in a funk for the past couple of days.  I was supposed to post this like a week ago, but I was just not feeling it.  Now I am back to normal and so ready to get back into the swing of things.  So, as promised, here is the recipe for the delicious lavender lemonade that I made for our BBQ a couple weekends ago.

lavender lemonade 3

Here are the ingredients; a bag of lemons, honey, lemon and lavender essential oils.  I also found this super cute glass pitcher to put it all in.  The best part is it was on sale at TJ Maxx for only $14!

lavender lemonade 4

These two oils are a couple of my favorites.  They can be used in so many ways and the flavor that they add is amazing!  I love just having the lemon in my water.

lavender lemonade 2lavender lemonade 1

I juiced 9 lemons right into the pitcher.  It was a little difficult trying to keep all of the seeds from going in, but if they do it’s no big deal.  They won’t come out of the spout anyway, so no one would accidentally get them in their drink.

Next, I made a honey syrup with a cup of honey and a cup of water.  I warmed them in a small saucepan until they combined.  Then I added two drops of lavender and two drops of lemon to the honey syrup.

I add the honey syrup to the lemons and then started adding a cup of water at a time until I got the right flavor and consistency.  You just kind of half to play around with it and it depends on how tart or sweet you would like it to be.

lavender lemonade

Then I added neon purple food coloring, until I got a color that I liked.  I stuck the pitcher in the fridge and let it sit over night.  The next day it was probably one of the hottest days ever and this delicious drink was the perfect thing.

I hope you are able to make this for your family and enjoy it as a refreshing drink.

YL graphic

Leave a Reply

