Here we go, AGAIN!

peace

I am not sure how this happens, every time, but I somehow concoct these grandiose ideas of what my summer will be like.  The lists come out and I promise myself that it will all get done, one way or another.  Then reality sets in and lazy summer days take over.  The lists become suggestions of ways that I can spend my time and I start to make excuses of reasons why I don’t need to do those things.

  1. It’s SUMMER!
  2. The kids need a break (translation-I need a break!)
  3. There’s still plenty of time

I came across this verse today Psalm 34:14 “Turn away from evil and do good.  Search for peace, and work to maintain it.”  Or the condensed version, “Seek peace and pursue it.”  The word peace can mean different things for different people.  For myself, it can mean that I have a quiet moment sometime in my day to think and just be.  For others it might mean something else, like financial stability, a long vacation or even just taking a shower.  Finding this verse has helped me to rethink the lists and the pressure of getting things done.  I now want to seek “my” peace and run after it, with God’s guidance.

I am the type of person who has to be busy all the time.  I need to have things to do in order to feel like I have accomplished something throughout my day.  Well, lately God has been showing me that I just need to slow down and rest in Him.  To be honest, it has been really hard for me.  Whenever I try to rest my mind starts to race with other things and I just can’t sit still.  While I am getting better at it, I still have much more room for improvement.

So I will leave you with the challenge to find “your” peace and pursue it.  If it’s something that you’re not comfortable with then it’s probably right where you need to be.  Challenge yourself and know that you are not alone.

Thank you so much for reading my crazy random thoughts!

Leave a Reply

