This is all I have to give

Well, it’s the 2nd week of the book study Am I Messing Up My Kids.  I have to say that I have been kind of a slacker this week because I only just finished reading the chapters this morning.  When I have an “assignment” to read something then I usually get it done in one sitting, but I just didn’t want to rush through it this week.

The verse for the week is Psalm 71:8 “My mouth is filled with your praise, declaring your splendor all day long.”

Hmm, at first I wasn’t sure what to think about that one.  I was good with this verse until I came to the “all day long” part.  I struggle with keeping it all together throughout the entire day.  Mornings in our house, during the summer months, are lazy and calm.  Then by mid-afternoon, when my three year old refuses to nap and my nine year old has rolled her eyes at me one too many times I have just about had it.

Later on in this section another verse appeared that was such an encouragement to me.  Isaiah 2:3 says, “He will teach us his ways, so that we may walk in his paths.”  That took a huge load off of my shoulders.  You mean I don’t have to do it all on my own?  I easily forget that I’m not in this alone.  God is there to support me and lift me up when I need it most.  I just need to remember to go to him before I have reached my breaking point.

Lysa also discussed using some powerful words to get me throughout my day.  When I feel like the stress of it all is starting to get to me I just simply say, “Jesus fill me.”  She listed an array of examples and ended each sentence with, “Jesus fill me.”  How simple is that?  It is so simple that I think even I can remember it.

She also brought up the fact that we all have a God-shaped hole in our hearts.  Many of us, including me, try to fill it with the wrong things.  Things that provide us a temporary satisfaction.  When we really should be turning to Him and saying, “Jesus fill me.”

I really liked this analogy too and I think it would be easy to teach to my children as well:

  • Use our souls to love God.
  • Use our bodies to serve God.
  • Use our mouths to praise God.

Another quote that hit home for me this week was “Your husband and children do not have to be your Savior.”  That is so true!  We spend so much time and energy in trying to be great moms.  We seek the approval and validation from our spouse or children to feel like we are appreciated and loved.  Then when we don’t get it we are devastated.  I know that I need to stop looking for the approval of my family and remember that I already have a Savior.

One of the chapters talked about treating yourself and creating a care package of things that you enjoy.  I feel guilty when I try to do something nice just for me.  The thoughts of doubt start to creep in and make me feel like I don’t deserve it or I should be doing something to help my family.  Lysa really helped to explain that it’s alright to have moments and things that are just for you.

If I were to create myself a care package here is what I would put in it:

  • Iced green tea from Panera
  • Reese’s peanut butter cups
  • Vibrant colored sharpies
  • A fresh notebook to write in
  • New running shoes

What would you put in your care package?  Make a list of things that you enjoy and write them down.  Just thinking about the things that I enjoy, just for me, makes me instantly feel better.

I will leave you with this verse that really spoke to me and lifted me up: I John 3:1-2 “How great is the love He has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God!  And that is what we are!  The reason the world does not know us is that it did not know him.  Dear friends, now we are children of God, and what we will be has not yet been made known,  But we know that when he appears, we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is.”

2 thoughts on “This is all I have to give

  1. Thank you for sharing. I also need to find God before my breaking point, and stop being devastated by a lack of approval and validation. I felt that your post reviewed the highlights of this week’s reading; which is a perfect study tool for us all! I’ll say a pray for you as you journey with God through motherhood. ~Daphne Fitzpatrick (Proverbs 31 Ministries OBS Team)

  2. “I just need to remember to go to Him BEFORE I reach my breaking point” Yes! Amen sister!! Thank you for all of the thoughts! P.S – I think a new pair of running shoes would have to be on my list too : )

Leave a Reply

