Being a Mom is Tough!

As I go along on this journey of being a mom I find myself looking for help, support and peace at every corner.  So when I came across a book study titled, Am I Messing Up My Kids?, I couldn’t help but be curious.  Then when I saw who the author of the book I said, “Sign me up!”

kids

I downloaded the book right away on my kindle and read the first chapter right then.  I couldn’t wait for the study to begin and be able to join other moms, just like me, who are just looking for some answers to the same questions that we all ask ourselves.

  • Did I handle that situation the right way?
  • Am I portraying the traits that I want my kids to see each day?
  • Why can’t I have a little peace in my day? (at least when I’m in the bathroom)

The list could go on and on.  Week 1 for the book study was titled Being a Mom is Tough.  That is an understatement for sure.  I watched the intro video and immediately felt a sense of calmness.  Our assignment this week was to read the first 5 chapters of the book.  This only took me two separate afternoon nap times.  I wrote down some notes and verses that were uplifting and thought I would share them here.

The verse of the week is Psalm 23:3 he restores my soul.  Take a deep breath and really let that sink in.  The word restores is so powerful, isn’t it?  I mean there are days when my head hits the pillow and I think to myself, “How am I going to wake up and do this all over again tomorrow?”  To know that he restores me is such a comfort.

The ladies in the intro video gave some examples of imperfect mom moments and encouraged us to think of our own.

I have two children, Kara is 9 and Kallen is 3.  They are the type of children who act like perfect angels around others, especially strangers, but when  we are in the confines of our home they can be not so perfect.  I always say that I would rather it be the way it is then to have children who act out all the time or in public settings.  Well, I have had a moment or two or three where I have reached my boiling point and just lost it.  The kind of lost it where you can feel your blood pressure rising and you have a splint second thought that you should probably take a moment to calm down, but you don’t.

One day in the middle of one of these moments my daughter was arguing with me about something.  To tell you the truth I can’t even remember what it was about.  She had already rolled her eyes and stormed out of the room.  I should have let it go.  I should have given her time to herself, but I didn’t.  Instead I went after her and kept on about proving her wrong and she had reached her boiling point by then.  So here we are both screaming back and forth at each other.  Neither of us listening to the other.  As I left her room I yelled back, “Well, you can just stay in here then!” and slammed the door behind me.  Not my proudest mommy moment and reflecting back I feel ashamed of myself. #imperfectmoms

In reading the chapters this week I feel that there are some important points that Lysa makes:

“Let my time with the Lord overflow while withholding my to-do list.”  Uh-huh

“How can I continue to pour out if I’m not being filled back up?” Yep

The best quote for me, by far, is “You are exactly the mom God knew your children needed.”  Thank goodness.

I am looking forward to really being filled up over the course of this study and another that I am also doing at the same time.  It has been a long time coming and I am excited of the things to come!

blog

3 thoughts on “Being a Mom is Tough!

  1. That was my favorite quote too..”You are exactly the mom God knew your children needed”. That was just what I needed to hear!

  2. I can remember having those moments with my kids 🙂 You are not alone! Isn’t it amazing and wonderful how God helps us to build character, patience, endurance, our strength while always being by our side guiding us, helping us with our children 🙂 Proverbs 22: 6 Train a child in the way he should go. When he is old, he will not turn away from it. Our two daughters both have been baptized and shine God’s light unto others and our son lives close to us and does not denied God’s existence and believes in prayer, we continue to encourage and motivate him , letting God shine through us!!! You are a wonderful mom!!!

Leave a Reply

